# Windsor Community Television, Inc. (WIN – TV) Minutes of the Board of Directors Meeting December 11<sup>th</sup>, 2018

The meeting was called to order at 7:07 pm by Lawrence Jaggon- Vice President, Present were:

### **Executive Committee:**

Lorenzo Elliott – President (in late) Lawrence Jaggon – Vice President Bernie Caliendo – Treasurer Patricia Bruhn- Member At Large

### **Board Members:**

Dennis Bivens David Raney Mike Daly Theresa Harris Fatmata Williams

# Absent:

Ann Walsh Theresa Tillett

The agenda was approved by consensus, and VP Lawrence Jaggon moved to accept.

2. Public Communications: None

<u>3. Approval of Minutes:</u> 10/23/18 Minutes – David Raney motioned, Dennis Bivens 2<sup>nd</sup>, accepted minutes. 11/27/18 Minutes – Bernie Caliendo motioned, David Raney 2<sup>nd</sup>, accepted minutes.
**4. Treasurer's Report: Bernie Caliendo** presented as of 10/31/2018

Checking \$15,359.63

Savings \$9,739

CD \$29,866.19

**Mike Daly** asked a couple of clarifying questions, **David Raney** motioned, **Pat Bruhn** 2<sup>nd</sup>, accepted treasurer's report.

<u>5. President's Report</u> – Report was tabled by VP Lawrence Jaggon because the president was running late.

# 6. Staff/Jenny

**Jenny Hawran** informed the board that she was asked to write an opinion piece regarding the FCC/Comcast issue. There was some discussion around this issue potentially being a very serious threat to public/community television access. **Pat Bruhn** and **Mike Daly** notified the group that Friday (12/14) was the last day for public comments on this issue.

# **HACTAC**

**David Raney** shared that other stations are experiencing similar problems like WIN-TV and gave some examples. **Jenny Hawran** explained that there was a lobbyist at the last HACTAC meeting and he proposed to represent all the stations for a fee of \$15,000 (\$1,000 per station). **Jenny** also reported that all the station directors asked for more information to present to their boards because this spend was not a part of the budget. More information is pending. **Lawrence Jaggon** asked for the date and time of the next HACTAC meeting.

# **Technology**

**Mike Daly** asked to table the state of the firewall discussion until after the New Year because of the budget implications. **Mike** also stated that he has not found anything worth recommending at this time. **Pat Bruhn** motioned, Bernie Caliendo 2<sup>nd</sup>, accepted. **Jenny Hawran** mentioned that one computer is having issues and that she might apply for grants to address that need – **Lawrence Jaggon** mentioned that station equipment is also a priority.

# **Fundraising**

**Pat Bruhn** gave the Ollies' date (3/23/2019) and venue (Grace Church). She asked for 2 items or \$20.00 for the raffle. **Mike Daly** asked whether there was a preference of either money, or items; **Pat** stated that she had no preference. It was suggested that the board discuss other fund raising activities. The date for the first fundraising meeting in 2019 was given as 1/8/2019.

### **Nominations**

Patricia Bruhn stated that three board members were up for re-elections and Bernie Caliendo casted a vote to nominate all 3 members (Patricia Bruhn, Fatmata Williams & David Raney) to continue serving on the board; nominations accepted. Lawrence Jaggon nominated Lorenzo Elliott for President, Bernie Caliendo seconded, nomination accepted. Lawrence Jaggon nominated Bernie Caliendo for Treasurer, David Raney seconded, nomination accepted. Lawrence Jaggon nominated Fatmata Williams for Secretary, seconded by Theresa Harris, nomination accepted. Lorenzo Elliott nominated Patricia Bruhn for Member at large, Bernie Caliendo seconded, nomination accepted. Lawrence Jaggon nominated Patricia Bruhn for Member at large, Bernie Caliendo seconded, nomination accepted. Lorenzo Elliott nominated Patricia Bruhn for Member at large, Bernie Caliendo seconded, nomination accepted. Lorenzo Elliott nominated Patricia Bruhn for Member at large, Bernie Caliendo seconded, nomination accepted. Lorenzo Elliott nominated Patricia Bruhn for Member at large, Bernie Caliendo seconded, nomination accepted. Lorenzo Elliott nominated Patricia Bruhn for Member at large, Bernie Caliendo seconded, nomination accepted. Election outcomes: three board members (Patricia Bruhn, Fatmata Williams & David Raney) were re-elected to continue serving on the board. Lorenzo Elliott, Lawrence Jaggon and Bernie Caliendo were re-elected to serve as President, Vice President and Treasurer, respectively. Fatmata Williams was elected to serve as Secretary. Lorenzo Elliott and Lawrence Jaggon facilitated discussion around the Bylaws Committee and the next meeting dates. They thanked all the board members including Jenny for a wonderful year. Bernie Caliendo moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:30pm, seconded by Lawrence Jaggon. Meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted, Fatmata Williams Board member